McCain’s CPAC Speech

Well, before I look at any other reactions and add links, I want to get my own reaction out there.

I thought it a solid speech. I think his tone was just right, and he won over the somewhat dubious crowd.

He secured my vote in November.

But I realize I’m easy. The question is what do the  “anyone but McCain” folks think? I realize that there are some who will never vote for him…but has he won over any of the hardcore anti-McCain conservatives?

—Be back shortly….

UPDATE:

Hot Air has the text of the speech, and reports that  MKH and Geraghty liked it, Hugh Hewitt and Geraghty’s readers loved it.

I’m glad that I’m not the only pushover…

…Be back shortly…

Where’s Ace?I thought he was going to be live blogging the speech? I guess “everything didn’t go well”.

RedState gives the speech a thumbs up.

Freddy Freddoso at The Corner is not impressed. He’s supporting “real conservative” Ron Paul.

Kathryn Jean Lopez makes a great point:

It Needs to Be Said:  This McCain speech would not have been given today, if it weren’t for folks like Mark Levin, Rush Limbaugh, Andy McCarthy, Sean Hannity, and Laura Ingraham. Can I thank them on behalf of America?

Barry Out West has written a dissertation on MDS, and explains why McCain has his vote.

Allahpundit sounds a leeetle cynical about McCain’s claim that he respects the opposition of amnesty opponents….You can view that part of the speech at Hot Air.

You can color bmac  unimpressed as well:

I listened to it.
Just cause he’s calling himself a conservative doesn’t magically make it so.
Saying what CPAC wants to hear is meaningless, his record more than speaks for itself. Total B.S.
I just cannot get behind this guy.

Geoff at Uncommon Misconceptions weighs in, lol.

A little levity is needed at times like this…

Friday, Feb. 8:

Mickey Kaus makes some good points on McCain’s CPAC Suck-up.

More Levity:

The Nose On You Face  has The Top Nine Reasons A Grizzly Bear Would Make A Great Presidential Candidate.

Orrrr…

Now more than ever!

Innocent Bystanders nominates Dave In Texas for President.

Mitt Suspends Campaign

I knew this was coming but I’m still brushing away tears:

“If this were only about me, I’d go on,” Romney said. “Frankly I’d be making it easier for Sen. Clinton or Sen. Obama.

“I disagree with Sen. McCain on a number of issues…

(You could hear the audience surpressing boos, here).

 …but I agree with him about doing whatever it takes to win in Iraq and finding Osama bin Laden.”

“If I fight on in my campaign, all the way to the convention, I would forestall the launch of a national campaign and make it more likely that Senator Clinton or Obama would win. And in this time of war, I simply cannot let my campaign be a part of aiding a surrender to terror,” Romney said.

“This is not an easy decision for me. I hate to lose. My family, my friends and our supporters… many of you right here in this room… have given a great deal to get me where I have a shot at becoming President. If this were only about me, I would go on. But I entered this race because I love America, and because I love America, I feel I must now stand aside, for our party and for our country,” Romney said.

The speech fell short of an endorsement for McCain as some had speculated it might, but his point that he and McCain agreed on the war was not insignificant.

Huck, on the other hand, for some inexplicable reason has vowed to press on.

Posted in Mitt. 2 Comments »

Ann Coulter Not Officially Speaking At CPAC

You may remember the dust-up at last year’s convention when she called John Edwards a “faggot”, causing a national uproar. Her staunchest supporters had a hard time defending her, and Presidential candidates, Romney, Giuliani, and McCain all condemned her speech. Official CPAC bloggers sent a letter to the ACU urging them to not invite her back.

Usually, a headliner, she has this year been delegated to attending an invitation only event sponsored by Young America’s Foundation and the Clare Boothe Luce Policy Institute, and  signing books at a reception.

According to James Joyner an official CPAC blogger :

Justin Elliott of Mother Jonesinterviewed ACU president David Keene about the decision:

“We just decided that, given the agenda and all that we had going on this year, there was not a reason to invite her.” Asked if the decision was related to the uproar Coulter’s remarks caused last year, Keene demurred. “The cosponsoring groups decided she was not high on their list,” Keene said. “She wasn’t suggested this year. That doesn’t mean she won’t be invited again next year.”

I’m guessing that would be contingent upon her behavior, at this year’s events, and I’m not sure she cares.

But considering her comments about voting….even campaigning for Hillary if McCain is the nominee, it will certainly be interesting to hear what she has to say at her invitation only speaking event.

For all the latest, Hot Air is Live blogging from CPAC.

Those rumors you may have heard about McCain’s Reagan video introduction appear to be untrue, according to Byron York at The Corner. ….PHEW!  That would have been awkward.

According to The Politico, CPAC attendees have been instructed not to boo McCain.

Here’s a list of GOP bloggers attending the conference.

Posted in Repubs. 1 Comment »
  • Blog Stats

    • 4,678,798 hits
  • free counters
  • Is your cat plotting to kill you?
  • Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 545 other followers

