McCotter Decries “Hunter-Gatherer” Economy In Cap And Tax

MI Rep McCotter’s floor speech on Cap and Tax

Text:

“Today we consider a bill that claims that government can control the weather by raising your taxes, taking your job and dictating your life.  In my state of Michigan, with a 15% unemployment rate, we know we cannot afford this cap and tax bill.  Others, however, disagree.

“Make no mistake.  President Obama pronounced: ‘This is a jobs bill.’  He is correct—this bill will destroy jobs.  But then again, this comes from an administration that claims its trillion-dollar stimulus bill would stop unemployment from going over 8%.

“The argument for this bill is nuts on its face.  Government cannot design our economy and prosperity; it can only engineer our decline in poverty.  But such feelings explain why this job-killing cap and tax bill is a fundamental shift from a manufacturing economy to an old, green economy called hunting and gathering.

“Passing this abominable energy tax on working families in a recession shows this job-killing, budget-busting government doesn’t understand how much real Americans are hurting for work.  This is the hubris of big government:  the delusion that our families’ economic future rests in the manicured hands of Congress rather than in the hard-working hands of the American people.  I disagree and I urge the rejection of this bill.”

Rumor flying around DC as of 1:30 is that Waxman-Markey is being pulled…

My continuing coverage of Cap and Tax, here.

21 Responses to “McCotter Decries “Hunter-Gatherer” Economy In Cap And Tax”

  1. jana Says:

    I want this guy to be President! Today! He’s brilliant about policy, and he has a wicked dry sense of humor.

    Love. This. Man.

    Like

  2. JaneLovesJesus Says:

    This is exactly the sort of legislators we need to hear from and support. Thank you for finding this inspiring soundbite.

    As for me, I am not giving one more dime to the RNC, but will try to give it directly (meager though it may be) to folks like McCotter.

    Like

  3. nicedeb Says:

    McCotter/Palin 2012!

    Like

  4. Cathy Says:

    I don’t my part calling, writing, making phone calls to stop this disaster I call Knee-Cap and Tax.

    And the RNC got my letter this week, along two completed recent “surveys” they sent me asking for more money.

    Basically I told them that I would not be contributing UNTIL they get their act together… and I offered some suggestions.

    My hope is that they will wise up. Like many of our conservative news personalities and writers I don’t think a third party is a good idea. The Republican Party is OUR party and we want it back.

    Like

  5. Cathy Says:

    Correction in my first sentence.. “I DID my part calling…”

    Sheesh! I need a break. I’m losin’ it, just sayin’

    Like

  6. JackStraw Says:

    I’m not a huge fan of Boehner but he is absolutely destroying the donks right now. The stuff that’s in the manager’s amendment is surreal.

    Like

  7. nicedeb Says:

    They were saying he was masterful on Twitter.
    I just came in from the pool.

    Like

  8. nicedeb Says:

    I’m going to see if there’s a video of that.

    Like

  9. jana Says:

    nicedeb Says:
    June, 26, 2009 at 4:47 pm
    McCotter/Palin 2012!

    Music to my conservative ears!

    Like

  10. nicedeb Says:

    I’ve updated the cap and tax post.

    Like

  11. JackStraw Says:

    It passed.

    Like

  12. nicedeb Says:

    Another nail in the coffin.

    Like

  13. nicedeb Says:

    Who were the 9 repub turncoats, and what did they get it?

    Like

  14. JackStraw Says:

    I’m gonna go get drunk before that becomes illegal too.

    Like

  15. nicedeb Says:

    I’m going to Pizza Street…before that’s illegal.

    Update: Ended up going to Tequila Harry’s. And yeah, I downed some tequila.

    Like

  16. Nick Says:

    Hi Deb!

    Bono Mack (CA) (202) 225-5330
    Castle (DE) (202) 225-4165
    Kirk (IL) (202) 225-4385
    Lance (NJ) (202) 225-5361
    LoBiondo (NJ) (202) 225-6572
    McHugh (NY) (202) 225-4611
    Reichert (WA) (202) 225-7761
    Smith (NJ) (202) 225-3765

    Like

  17. nicedeb Says:

    Hey Nick! Are you in Panama, yet?

    Like

  18. Nick Says:

    Yes, I rented a place outside Bocas Town until the place I want to rent on Isla Colon is ready, so I can wait until my place is ready!

    Waiting is the Panamanian past time, but I can’t complain. The President is a CONSERVATIVE and likes business!

    Like

  19. nicedeb Says:

    That’s rich. You get to watch us become a banana republic from a former banana republic.

    Like

  20. Wonk Room » ‘Caveman’ McCotter: ‘Only A Left-Wing Group Would Come Up With 1.7 Million New Jobs’ Says:

    [...] job-killing cap and tax bill is a fundamental shift from a manufacturing economy to an old, green economy called hunting and gathering.” Because of his record, McCotter has been named one of the first members of the [...]

    Like


Leave a Reply

  • Blog Stats

    • 4,627,781 hits
  • free counters
  • Is your cat plotting to kill you?
  • Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 521 other followers

