Your Sunday Hymn: Finlandia Hymn

For no other reason than I love love love this melody:

Choir Misure Composte (Bari)
Conductor Bepi Speranza

January 1, 2006 – Teatro Piccinni, Bari (Italy)

Lyrics

This is my song, Oh God of all the nations,
A song of peace for lands afar and mine.
This is my home, the country where my heart is;
This is my hope, my dream, my shrine.
But other hearts in other lands are beating,
With hopes and dreams the same as mine.

My country’s skies are bluer than the ocean,
And sunlight beams on cloverleaf and pine.
But other lands have sunlight too and clover,
And skies are everywhere as blue as mine.
Oh hear my song, oh God of all the nations,
A song of peace for their land and mine.

Lyrics in finnish from weedymacweedweed
Oi Suomi, katso, sinun päiväs’ koittaa,
yön uhka karkoitettu on jo pois,
ja aamun kiuru kirkkaudessa soittaa
kuin itse taivahan kansi sois’.
Yön vallat aamun valkeus jo voittaa,
sun päiväs’ koittaa, oi synnyinmaa.

Oi nouse, Suomi, nosta korkealle
pääs’ seppelöimä suurten muistojen,
oi nouse, Suomi, näytit maailmalle
sa että karkoitit orjuuden
ja ettet taipunut sa sorron alle,
on aamus’ alkanut, synnyinmaa.

4 Responses to “Your Sunday Hymn: Finlandia Hymn”

  1. wdednh Says:

    Thank You…

    Like

  2. Your Sunday Hymn: Finlandia Hymn (via Nice Deb) « YOU DECIDE Says:

    [...] Your Sunday Hymn: Finlandia Hymn (via Nice Deb) Posted by wdednh ⋅ May 8, 2011 ⋅ Leave a Comment For no other reason than I love love love this melody: Choir Misure Composte (Bari) Conductor Bepi Speranza January 1, 2006 – Teatro Piccinni, Bari (Italy) Lyrics This is my song, Oh God of all the nations, A song of peace for lands afar and mine. This is my home, the country where my heart is; This is my hope, my dream, my shrine. But other hearts in other lands are beating, With hopes and dre … Read More [...]

    Like

  3. Blackiswhite, Imperial Consigliere Says:

    The singers make it too hard to hear the Oboe player properly.

    Like

  4. Vernia Easton Says:

    Thank you for another wonderful post. Where else could anybody get that type of information in such an ideal way of writing? I’ve a presentation next week, and I am on the look for such information.

    Like


Leave a Reply

  • Blog Stats

    • 4,708,621 hits
  • free counters
  • Is your cat plotting to kill you?
  • Follow Nice Deb on WordPress.com
  • Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 554 other followers

