Your Sunday Hymn: How Can I Keep From Singing

There are so many delightful versions of this popular hymn on Youtube, it was hard to choose just one – (so I chose several.) Here are the T Sisters with their rendition:

The Oakwood University Aeolians: Their lovely soprano’s opening will knock your socks off.

Here’s an arrangement by the composer Z Randall Stroope.   Vijay Singh leads the Central Washington University Chorale.

Lyrics:

How Can I Keep from Singing

1 My life flows on in endless song,

above earth’s lamentation.
I hear the clear, though far-off hymn
that hails a new creation.

Refrain:
No storm can shake my inmost calm
while to that Rock I’m clinging.
Since Christ is Lord of heaven and earth,
how can I keep from singing?

2 Through all the tumult and the strife,
I hear that music ringing.
It finds an echo in my soul.
How can I keep from singing? [Refrain]

3 What though my joys and comforts die?
I know my Savior liveth.
What though the darkness gather round?
Songs in the night he giveth. [Refrain]

4 The peace of Christ makes fresh my heart,
a fountain ever springing!
All things are mine since I am his!
How can I keep from singing? [Refrain]

Source: Glory to God: the Presbyterian Hymnal #821

Author: Robert Lowry

Robert Lowry was born in Philadelphia, March 12, 1826. His fondness for music was exhibited in his earliest years. As a child he amused himself with the various musical instruments that came into his hands. At the age of seventeen he joined the First Baptist Church of Philadelphia, and soon became an active worker in the Sunday-school as teacher and chorister. At the age of twenty-two he gave himself to the work of the ministry, and entered upon a course of study at the University of Lewisburg, Pa. At the age of twenty-eight he was graduated with the highest honors of his class. In the same year of his graduation, he entered upon the work of the ministry. He served as pastor at AVest Chester, Pa., 1851-1858; in New York City, 1859-1861;

3 thoughts on “Your Sunday Hymn: How Can I Keep From Singing

  1. Who knew that Vijay did the conducting thing?
    Guess he didn’t make enough at the Golf thingy and had to take up a second career.

    ;-}

    Like

Leave a Reply

