Your Sunday Hymn: You Raise Me Up

Celtic Woman perform the beautiful hymn “You Raise Me Up” popularized by Josh Groban in 2003.

The song was originally composed by the Irish-Norwegian duo Secret Garden.

Here is Josh Groban’s version:

And here is the Secret Garden 2002 version :

The music was written by Rolf Løvland and the lyrics by Brendan Graham. After the song was performed early in 2002 by the Secret Garden and their invited lead singer, Brian Kennedy, the song only became a minor UK hit. The song has been recorded by more than a hundred other artists including Josh Groban, who popularized the song in 2003; his rendition became a hit in the United States. The Irish band Westlife then popularized the song in the United Kingdom two years later.[1] “You Raise Me Up” is sung as a contemporary hymn in church services.

Lyrics:

When I am down, and, oh, my soul, so weary
When troubles come, and my heart burdened be
Then, I am still and wait here in the silence
Until you come and sit awhile with me

You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains
You raise me up to walk on stormy seas
I am strong when I am on your shoulders
You raise me up to more than I can be

There is no life, no life without it’s hunger
Each restless heart beats so imperfectly
But then you come, and I am filled with wonder
Sometimes I think I glimpse eternity

You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains
You raise me up to walk on stormy seas
I am strong when I am on your shoulders
You raise me up to more than I can be

You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains
You raise me up to walk on stormy seas
I am strong when I am on your shoulders
You raise me up to more than I can be

You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains
You raise me up to walk on stormy seas
I am strong when I am on your shoulders
You raise me up to more than I can be

You raise me up to more than I can be

4 thoughts on “Your Sunday Hymn: You Raise Me Up

  1. You continue to do good work Debbie. I certainly hope that your going to keep track of Donald Trump in his candidacy for President. He is arrogant and brash, but people love the fact that he shoots straight from the hip, and tells the truth about things even when the others don’t want to see it or don’t want it known.
    He told thousands that: 1) he is Presbyterian, and 2) the Holy Bible is his favorite book. He said that before the incredible crowd in Mobile, Ala last week. It took a lot of nurve for him to say that. Dr. Harlan A. Hanna, Ph.D., Cobraseal2343hanna@yahoo.com, (8-23-2015)(Sun.)

    Like

  2. Thanks Dr. Hanna. I kinda find it hard to believe that Trump’s favorite book is the bible, and I really think Trump’s candidacy is about Trump. He’s just savvy enough to understand that there are issues being neglected by the other candidates, and he’s strategically filling that vacuum.

    He wants to be president, and he’s using the Republican party as a vehicle to get there.

    I understand that he has struck a chord with a lot of Republicans, but I continue to watch his campaign with a jaundiced eye.

    Having said all that, I would gladly cast my vote for him over any Democrat. I do believe him when he says he loves this country. (It has been very good to him!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

