Obama In 2004: I Can’t See Running For President In ’08

Interviewer: “So why have you ruled that out…running nationally?”

Obama: “I am a believer in…….(pregnant pause)……….knowing what you’re doing…when you apply for a job…”

“If I were to seriously consider running on a national ticket…I would essentially have to start now…before having served a day in the Senate. Now there might be some people who would have no problem doing that, but ah…I’m not one of them“.

Now, while it’s true that Hillary made a pledge in 2000 not to run for President, she had the good sense not to renew that pledge during her Senatorial re-election campaign in 2005.

Why were people even asking him four years ago when he was only a newly elected junior Senator from Illinois, whether he was going to run for President?

I think Joe Biden said it best:

“I mean, you got the first mainstream African-American who is articulate and bright and clean and a nice-looking guy,” Biden said. “I mean, that’s a storybook, man.”

Most people scoffed at the idea that Barack was “the first African American” etc. etc….And yet…

I think that’s the sort of thinking that has been fueling much of his support.

Hat tip: Amerpundit

5 thoughts on “Obama In 2004: I Can’t See Running For President In ’08

  1. I remember seeing Obama making a speech the night of the ’04 election (it was very late at night, and looking back I’m surprised that they gave him any air time), and commenting to my husband the next day that he was going to end up being a Presidential candidate. I just didn’t expect it to happen this election cycle, especially given that it was pretty obvious even then that Monica Lewinsky’s ex-boyfriend’s wife* was going to be running in ’08, despite her promises.

    *I’m inspired by this picture to just refer to her like that, if only because it might send Monica Lewinsky’s ex-boyfriend’s wife into a total meltdown just a little bit sooner if she gets wind of it.

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Lies Of Barack Obama « Nice Deb

  3. Pingback: ‘By the People’: Ed Norton and Hollywood’s Mindless Obama Praise : Conservative Blog: Urban Conservative 2.0 – Conservative News & Politics

  4. Pingback: Billy Hallowell Online: Politics, Media & Society » Blog Archive » ‘By the People’: Ed Norton and Hollywood’s Mindless Obama Praise

Leave a comment