Bob Beckel: “Crackers And Right Wingers” Behind “Whitey” Smear!

Boy, the guy has a helluva nerve saying that. I wasn’t even going to touch the story, until I heard him talking about it on Fox News!:

Here he is today denouncing the spreading of the “Whitey smear” he helped perpetuate:

The cracker comment can be seen at LGF. I can’t get the video to embed, here.

Truth be told, most conservative bloggers presented the story as a rumor. I know I did, and I went back and forth for days, before I finally dismissed it because there were just too many inconsistencies in the story. I haven’t dismissed it out of hand, though. Frankly, I still think there’s a chance that it could be true, which to me, is one of the most devastating aspects of the rumor…that so many reasonable people actually believe Michelle Obama is capable of “railing against whitey”. But the fact of the matter is…conservative bloggers did not start the rumor!

Bob Beckel is certainly savvy enough to know that the “Whitey” rumor originated from the Pro-Hillary Democrat blogs, Texas Darlin, and No Quarter (earliest reportage May 15 that I could find) and it has been aggressively perpetuated by another pro-Hillary blog, Hillbuzz.

All of the big right wing bloggers have either presented it as an interesting rumor, or dismissed it entirely.

Hot Air has a list of the news organizations who have gotten this wrong, (by blaming conservative bloggers for the rumor) so far:

(1) Time magazine, (2) the New York Times, (3) the AP, (4) the Guardian, and now ABC. Not a single one has so much as mentioned Larry Johnson.

I agree with Ace. These aren’t all examples of media cluelessness, but deliberate lies.

UPDATE (June 16)::

This is the lead story at Michelle Malkin, this morning. As you can imagine…she’s not amused. She’s one of the leading righty bloggers who dismissed the story from the get-go.

UPDATE II:

Here is the part of the June 15 video with the Cracker comment:

I love how he claims he had tried to dispel the rumors in his earlier appearance. Bullcrap. He did no such thing. He’s the one who brought it up. Nobody even asked him about it. It just came out of thin air…”There is one other thing….”, and there was no attempt to dispel the rumor. In fact he stated that it was coming from multiple sources, and that it was worrying him.

9 thoughts on “Bob Beckel: “Crackers And Right Wingers” Behind “Whitey” Smear!

  1. I think Larry Johnson set the whole thing up to cause a negative backlash against conservatives.

    Think about it: he mentioned it in enough places to get people talking about it, then went silent himself and just let the events roll from that point.

    I notice that the fact that pundits were even just wondering about the supposed forthcoming revelation was somehow “enough” reason for BHO to start up the so called anti-smear website.

    Who is Larry Johnson, anyway? Seemss to me that he could be working for BHO.

    Like

  2. O/T: Just read the McCain “it’s tough to be proud of America” quote over at Hot Air. I have to admit that I’m at a complete loss now. I had steeled myself to vote for him, but now I don’t think I can.

    What to do?

    Like

  3. Eh…not as bad as I feared, Geoff. I think he was just trying to pander to the questioner who maybe sounded like a recent immigrant to him. Weak, to be sure, but weaker still, was the fact that the question was meant to be low hanging fruit for McCain to score some points against the Obamas, and he totally whiffed it.

    Damn, Fred! wouldn’t have done that!

    Like

  4. I think he was just trying to pander to the questioner who maybe sounded like a recent immigrant to him.

    Ya doesn’t pander my country away. Ever. I don’t want an apologist for America in office – the guy/gal running this country should believe with every cell in his/her body that this country is deserving of his/her pride. Otherwise we’ll have a Carter on our hands.

    Like

  5. Agreed. But I don’t think we need to question McCain’s patriotism. I think it just came out wrong. Very wrong.

    Not a good omen, since it’s Obama who is supposed to be so bad speaking extemporaneously.

    Like

Leave a comment