Video: OH Rep John Boehner Receives The The Henry J. Hyde Defender of Life Award

President and CEO of Americans United For Life, Charmaine Yoest presented the award …

The Henry J. Hyde Defender of Life Award was established to honor the legacy of Representative Henry J. Hyde (1924-2007). Hyde, former Chairman of the House Judiciary Committee, was a renowned pro-life leader and author of the original Hyde Amendment. Representative Hyde also served as Honorary Chairman at Americans United for Life. Each year, this prestigious award is presented to an elected official who demonstrates outstanding leadership in the cause of Life.

This year’s award was presented on May 5th, 2010 to House Republican Leader John A. Boehner both for his extraordinary leadership in the fight to prevent taxpayer-funded abortion at the federal level and for his unheralded pro-life work in his home state of Ohio. Leader Boehner was joined at this ceremony by his colleagues in Congress including Representatives Trent Franks (R-AZ), Chris Smith (R-NJ), and Dan Lipinski (D-IL).

Boehner got a little emotional in receiving his award:

Am I a baby? Is John Boehner a big baby? Why are we crying?

Share

5 thoughts on “Video: OH Rep John Boehner Receives The The Henry J. Hyde Defender of Life Award

  1. Don’t know you but from the content of your articles, I would assume you cried for the same reasons any person with a shred of humanity, decency and sense should cry – we are butchering 1,000,000 of the most innocent a year in their mother’s wombs under the guise of “choice.”

    And the reason gutless politicians won’t say as much is because the unborn can cast no vote, or the accomplices are deceived like so many with cliches of “I would never do it, but who am I…” or the hideous slang of “Safe, legal, and rare” with the clear message there is something terribly wrong with “the choice.”

    I like you’re website.

    I wasn’t a big John Boehner fan – until now.

    Like

  2. Thanks, Tex.

    You should go read Henry Hyde’s speech from 1996, automatically linked to above under possibly related posts:

    We would do well to read Henry Hyde again

    You can see why pro lifers looked up to him.

    I remember that debate. I remember how appalled I was at the Democrats, especially Bill Clinton for vetoing the partial birth abortion ban, not once, but twice.

    What a legacy to have.

    Like

  3. With the big fact typo of ‘you’re’. Make that your in my last post.

    You do some really nice work Deb. I find myself here more frequently as a jumping point, and have even used some of the content as a club for liberal heads. If that makes me a thief, consider me a Robin Hood type.

    I think the world of BlackisWhite’s writing abilities which I find professional (we should all be so talented) and you two will make a formidable team.

    Like

  4. Oh, so Geoff is here too. I missed that.

    Yes, I’ve commented over to his blog too and he is quite good. I’m surprised his blog doesn’t receive more traffic.

    Hopefully Geoff will have a change of heart and attend Rutherford Lawson’s useless but entertaining blog again. I rather enjoy watching Graychin implode when we team up. He’s now reverting to ending each retort with “you jerk.” 🙂 I don’t believe Geoff had the opportunity to eviscerate or impale Graychin yet.

    Rutherford has been smacked down so many times, I don’t hardly have the heart to confront him anymore. I’m gearing up for later this year with a list of previous comments about Conservatism being dead.

    Like

Leave a comment