Your Sunday Hymn: O Care, Thou Wilt Despatch Me

Here is a gorgeous madrigal,”O Care, thou wilt despatch me”
by Thomas Weelkes, (1576 – 1623) and sung beautifully by the The USC Thornton Concert Choir.

Enjoy:

Lyrics:

O Care, thou wilt despatch me,

If music do not match thee. So deadly thou dost sting me, Mirth only help can bring me. Hence Care, thou art too cruel, Come, music, sick man’s jewel. His force had well nigh slain me, But thou must now sustain me.

One thought on “Your Sunday Hymn: O Care, Thou Wilt Despatch Me

  1. Pingback: Your Sunday Hymn: O Care, Thou Wilt Despatch Me | momentarylapseofsanity

Leave a Reply

