Horror:Passenger Beheads Seatmate

Good lord. This is horrendous:

As horrified travelers watched, a Greyhound Canada bus passenger repeatedly stabbed and then decapitated a young man who was sitting and sleeping beside him, a witness said Thursday.

“There was a bloodcurdling scream. I was just reading my book, and all of a sudden, I heard it,” Garnet Caton, who was sitting in front of the two men, said of the Wednesday night incident west of Portage la Prairie in Manitoba.

“It was like something between a dog howling and a baby crying, I guess you could say,” Caton said. “I don’t think it will leave me for a while.”

Witnesses say the attacker joined the victim while he was sleeping during the last leg of the journey. There was nothing that precipitated the attack. It just came out of the blue.

Hat tip: Crime Scene KC

UPDATE:

Via Geoff: It gets worse. Caught on the police scanner:

Question: Why didn’t the police who were there, act when they saw that the killer was defiling the body? Was there nothing they could do until back up arrived?

Damn, this is the stuff nightmares are made of.