Your Sunday Hymn: I heard the Voice of Jesus Say

One of my favorite hymns – I heard the Voice of Jesus Say – in five different settings.

Jacob Moon with Sahra Featherstone performed the hymn on the Canadian  television series, God’s Greatest Hits:

I heard the voice of Jesus say, Trinity Hersttour Elburg:

Roots Worship Collective- I Heard the Voice of Jesus Say:

I Heard the Voice of Jesus Say – McLean Bible Church Celtic Band – Ben Roundtree:

I Heard the Voice of Jesus Say is arranged by Ben Roundtree and performed by the McLean Bible Church Celtic Band: Rosanna Louie-Juzwiak, Fiddle; Bob Pegritz, Irish Whistle; Michael Thomas, Cello; Bob Roche, Percussion; Holly Grate, Piano; and Ace Cooper, Bass. Ben Roundtree, music director and Dean Dillard,

I Heard the Voice of Jesus Say (Kingsfold) — Choir of Manchester Cathedral:

The Choir of Manchester Cathedral, under the direction of Christopher Stokes, perform the hymn ‘I Heard the Voice of Jesus Say’.

About Horatio Bonar “the prince of Scottish hymn writers”:

A pastor in the Church of Scotland, Horatio Bonar found that he had gift and an interest in writing verse, and took to writing adult hymns.

This continued as a habit while he served as pastor, and in the course of his ministry he published a number of hymn compilations.

“I Heard the Voice of Jesus Say” was one of the hymns he wrote during his tenure at Kelso. This is perhaps his most famous song, having found good reception not only in Scotland but also in the wider English-speaking world.

What makes the hymn so widely appealing may well be its focus on the gospel call of Christ to come to him, look to him, drink, and rest, and the simple call to obey and to find in him all that he has promised. It is simple, sweet and encouraging.

Lyrics:

I heard the voice of Jesus say,
“Come unto me and rest;
lay down, thou weary one, lay down
thy head upon my breast.”
I came to Jesus as I was,
so weary, worn, and sad;
I found in him a resting place,
and he has made me glad.

I heard the voice of Jesus say,
“Behold, I freely give
the living water; thirsty one,
stoop down and drink, and live.”
I came to Jesus, and I drank
of that life-giving stream;
my thirst was quenched, my soul revived,
and now I live in him.

I heard the voice of Jesus say,
“I am this dark world’s light;
look unto me, thy morn shall rise,
and all thy day be bright.”
I looked to Jesus, and I found
in him my Star, my Sun;
and in that light of life I’ll walk
till traveling days are done.

Words: Horatio Bonar, 1846

Music: Kingsfold, Vox DilectiThe Third Tune

 

Leave a comment