Video: Chris Christie Says He Won’t Run In 2012- Leaves 2016 and Beyond Open

He’s said it before, and we would do well to take him at his word, which, unlike some people’s, is actually worth something. Chris Christie is a man who says what he means, and means what he says. I don’t see a flip flop in his near future.

Here he is on Meet the Depressed with David Gregory, discussing his future in politics.

Compare that to:

Obama in 2004: Doesn’t see himself running for President in 2008: “If I were to seriously consider running on a national ticket…I would essentially have to start now…before having served a day in the Senate. Now there might be some people who would have no problem doing that, but ah…I’m not one of them“.

He said in 2006  that he would “absolutely” serve out his Senate term, which ends in 2011, and that the idea of him running for president this cycle was “silly” and hype “that’s been a little overblown”.

In an appearance on Meet the Press with Tim Russert, January 22nd, 2006:

Russert: “When we talked back in November of ’04 after your election, I said, ‘There’s been enormous speculation about your political future. Will you serve your six-year term as United States senator from Illinois?’”

Obama: “I will serve out my full six-year term. You know, Tim, if you get asked enough, sooner or later you get weary and you start looking for new ways of saying things. But my thinking has not changed.”

Russert: “So you will not run for president or vice president in 2008?”

Obama: “I will not.”

If you believe he was sincere in any of that, I have a nice bridge to sell you….

See also:

Gateway Pundit: Governor Christie Upsets David Gregory By Calling Him an Advocate for Dem Legislation (Video)

RELATED:

Mike Pence is someone to watch in terms of Presidential aspirations:

He told reporters this weekend that he has a lot on his plate right now, but he will be making some key decisions in January.

“Well let me say we’ve been very humbled by the encouragement that we’ve received to seek higher office, from people back in Indiana and around the country. But now that I’ve set aside my duties in the Republican conference, we’re going to take the next several months to prayerfully consider what might be next for our little family,” said Pence.

Hat tip: Lucianne

Linked by Michelle Malkin, thanks!

Share

2 thoughts on “Video: Chris Christie Says He Won’t Run In 2012- Leaves 2016 and Beyond Open

  1. I still really like Gov. Christie and hate thinking of him not running for Pres. in 2012, but I admire him keeping his word…..a rare thing in politics that shouldn’t be rare at all. Maybe that will change a little now.
    We have to keep their feet to the fire….those we just elected….and those still there.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Why Michael Emerson Would Make a Great [Temporary] Steve Carell Replacement |

Leave a comment